Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Australia bat as Finch and Woakes debut

Cameron White has won his first toss as Australia's Twenty20 captain and chose to bat at Adelaide. Aaron Finch, the Victoria batsman, will make his debut for Australia and Chris Woakes, the Warwickshire seamer, gets his first cap for England while Ian Bell returns for his first Twenty20 since 2008.
Woakes, who replaced the injured Stuart Broad in the England squad, made his senior debut against the Prime Minister's XI in Canberra on Monday and claimed 2 for 63 from nine overs. He has been preferred to Chris Tremlett with Michael Lumb, the specialist Twenty20 opener, is also on the sidelines.
Australia have a bowling attack full of pace with Shaun Tait, Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson primed to unleash on the batsmen. James Pattinson is the man to miss out from their 12.
England are chasing a world-record eighth consecutive Twenty20 victory having followed their World Twenty20 success with back-to-back wins against Pakistan. Australia, meanwhile, have collected four defeats on the bounce including the loss to England in Barbados during May.
Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Shane Watson, 3 Tim Paine (wk), 4 David Hussey, 5 Cameron White (capt), 6 Aaron Finch, 7 Steve Smith, 8 Steve O'Keefe, 9 Mitchell Johnson, 10 Brett Lee, 11 Shaun Tait
England 1 Ian Bell, 2 Steven Davies (wk), 3 Kevin Pietersen, 4 Paul Collingwood (capt), 5 Eoin Morgan, 6 Luke Wright, 7 Michael Yardy, 8 Tim Bresnan, 9 Graeme Swann, 10 Ajmal Shahzad, 11 Chris Woakes

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Grants For Single Moms