Friday, January 7, 2011

Al-Nasr vs Dubai 14:30GMT

The UAE Football League, also referred to as UFL, is the professional association football league of the United Arab Emirates. Founded in 1973, the league currently holds a number of tournaments for the 12 participating teams, including the Etisalat Pro-League, the Etisalat Cup, and the Etisalat Challenge League, all named after the UFL major sponsors Etisalat.
The current format of the league, the Etisalat Pro-League, has been established in the 2008-2009 season, and has each of the 12 participating football teams play each other twice in the 10-month long tournament.
The first team to win the UFL was Al-Sharjah, while the team with the most titles is Al-Ain who have won the league 9 times.
Some of the UFL prominent clubs include Al-Ain, Al-Wasl, Al-Shabbab ACD, Al-Sharjah, Al-Wahda, and Al-Ahli.
Al-Ahli, the 2008-09 champion, represented the hosting nation (UAE) in the 2009 edition of the FIFA Club World Cup. In the 2010 edition of the tournament, which was also hosted by UAE, the hosting nation was represented by the 2009-10 champions Al-Wahda.
The 1990-91 edition of the UFL did not produce a Championship winner, as the season was canceled due to the Gulf War
In the concluding game of "week 7", Al Wahda maintained their second win in the Etisalat Cup to snatch three valuable points after defeating Al Nasr with a solitary goal in the match played at Al Nahyan Stadium in Abu Dhabi. Omer Ali scored the all-important goal of the match two minutes before the final whistle capitalizing off the ball that rebounded off the goalkeeper's hands.
Both teams have collected 8 points so far, but Al Wahda won the head-to-head game this evening to stay one step ahead of Al Nasr who are classified in the 5th place in the second group.

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More

Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Grants For Single Moms